site logo

Managing Users


Creating & Managing Users  

  1. Can a user submit a ticket without registering?
  2. Can users register themselves?
  3. What are the different user roles?
  4. How do I set up access rights for a restricted technician?
  5. What does a restricted technician see in the helpdesk?
  6. How do I delete or disable a user?
  7. How can I change user roles?
  8. What if a user forgot his password?
  9. Can I have my users register themselves?
  10. Can I disable all email notifications for an user?

  1. Can a user submit a ticket without registering?

    Yes. A user can create a ticket and just enter his name. If you have the email-to-ticket feature enabled then it works the same from incoming emails. Once the request is submitted, the user will receive an email asking him / her to confirm it by clicking on a link. Once confirmed, the request becomes a ticket and is available in the unassigned tickets screen. All unregistered users have a user account created once they confirm their requests. The user login info are mailed to them at creation time.

  2. Can users register themselves?
    Yes, but only if you allow 'guest-requests'. See first question for more information.
  3. What are the different user roles?

    There are four user roles in Mojo Helpdesk: the user, the technicians, the managers and the owner.

    • Users
      • Typically a user is your customer submitting tickets and adding notes to them. When they have a solution, the user can close the ticket then rate it based on his satisfaction.
    • Restricted Technician
      • A restricted tech is only able to view and access tickets in queues that have been selected for them by a manager. 
    • Technicians
      • A technician can answer tickets, create tickets on behalf of customers, manage ticket queues and review mojo numbers.
    • Managers
      • Same as technicians and can manage user and company information, update user roles and access user profiles. Managers can also import and export data.
    • Owner
      • The owner is the person who is in charge of the overall management of the helpdesk (usually the person that created the helpdesk). There is only one owner for the whole helpdesk. An owner can do everything in the helpdesk including upgrade or downgrade the helpdesk plan.
    • Admins
      • Admins are set up by the helpdesk owner and have the same access rights and permissions as the owner. 
  4. How do I set up access rights for a restricted technician?

    After setting up a new agent with the 'restricted technician' role, you will need to set up which queues the restricted tech can access by going to Manage> All Settings> Restricted Tech Access Rights. If you are changing an agents role from technician to restricted tech, any ticket assigned to the agent will automatically become 'unassigned'. You will then need to set access rights for the agent before being able to assign tickets to them.  

  5. What does a restricted technician see in the helpdesk?

    A restricted technician will not be able to view any tickets until access rights have been set. Once queues have been selected, the agent will only be able to view and access tickets in their respective queue in any list or anytime they perform a search query. Restricted agents are not able to view reports, access the main settings, set new ticket notifications or delete tickets.  

  6. How do I delete or disable a user?

    A manager role or higher can delete a user from the user's profile.  When deleting a staff user, you will have the option to re-assign the tickets to another agent before deletion. When deleting a regular user, you will not have the option to transfer tickets and all tickets will be deleted along with the user.  To avoid deleting the tickets when deleting a user (regular or staff), make the user "inactive".  Once inactive, a user is no longer able to login to the helpdesk.  You can make the user active again at any time.  

  7. How can I change user roles?

    You can change user roles at any time by editing the user profile. Note: if you are changing an agents role from technician to restricted technician, any ticket assigned to the tech at the time will become 'unassigned'. You will need to set access rights for the agent before being able to assign them tickets. 

  8. What if a user forgot his password?

    There is a 'forgot password' link in the login screen of your helpdesk. When a user clicks on it he will receive an email with the password change instructions. Also, a manger role or higher may assign a new or temporary password for the user in the user's profile.  (Note: the user's existing password will never be visable to helpdesk managers or admins; it is only able to be changed, not viewed.)

  9. Can I have my users register themselves?

    Yes, in Manage> All Settings> Configure Mojo Helpdesk, set 'Allow unregistered users to create tickets' to 'yes' and users will be able to register themselves when creating a ticket.  To avoid unwanted requests, you also have the option to require confirmation of the unregistered users' tickets before they appear as actual tickets in the helpdesk.  If "confirmation required" is set to 'yes', staff may view pending tickets in the the "Guest Request' tab in the 'Unassigned Tickets' list.  Staff may either 'accept' or 'discard' tickets if the user has not yet confirmed the submission.  

  10. Can I disable all email notifications for an user?

    Yes, it is possible for a regular user.  You can use the 'do not email ever' option in the user's profile and the user will never receive an email from the helpdesk.  Alternatively, you can disable the "welcome email" that sends login credientials to new users and/or the "new ticket confirmation" email that sends confirmation of a new ticket submission to the user. To configure these settings, go to Manage> All Settings> Configure Mojo Helpdesk> Miscellaneous Settings.  (This last option will allow you to communicate with the customer only when you choose, such as when you add a message to a ticket and leave the 'send email to user' checked).